Wondering Out Loud

Playing the sponge at New Comm Forum

I, and a couple hundred of my Social Media fellow travelers, are gathered in Santa Rosa, CA for the New Comm Forum put on by the Society for New Communication Research (SNCR).  I came here with the goal of arming myself with enough information to finally develop an honest-to-goodness Social Media strategy for my work at SoftBrands.  After two days of seminars and presentations I can honestly claim that I’ve been inundated with more than I thought possible.

If information is power, I’m feeling a bit Super Man.

Going in, I was convinced that I was playing catch-up in terms of my/our adoption of SM, but I quickly realized that I am not only caught up, I’m actually ahead of the game in many respects.

With enterprisetechblog.com, podcasting and twitter already part of my SM mix, I have more vehicles promoting the really smart people at SoftBrands than most have even considered. But even with all of the good things happening, there is one piece of the puzzle missing: Listening.

I’m not listening to my constituents. I haven’t figured out where their conversations are taking place or what they’re saying. But I intend to do so. If I am to be successful in implementing Social Media at SoftBrands, I have to find those conversations, listen to what is being said, and add value to them. 

Only after I accomplish that can I expect my consituents to come to the blog and podcasts and listen and comment on what is being said. 

Seems so simple and basic, but it was not part of my thought process before the last two days.

I can’t wait to get back and begin implementing everything I’ve learned.  I can’t wait for tomorrow and the opportunity to learn more.

More on SNCR, New Comm Forum, and all the really smart people I’m surrounded by.

April 24, 2008 Posted by | Social Media | , , , | 1 Comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

